Here goes nothing : The Chaotic Skuzz

It is 8:53 am where I am and I’ve spent all night writing. Moving quickly from one idea to the next, in the chaotic way I’ve always wrote. For that matter it’s pretty similar to the chaotic life I’ve always seemed to find myself living. I once had my writing compared to Jack Kerouac, but I think it was a backhanded compliment. It was a short story based on Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy, specifically on part 1, Inferno. Knowing a bit about the quite famous epic poem, I knew for instance that Dante was guided by Virgil. I also knew that he had nine circles of hell with each getting progressively worse. Now since my version was written 700 years later, Dante and I differed on what sins were punishable and by how much. I don’t remember Dante’s levels off of the top of my head, but I believe the first circle was limbo, which was for those who went unbaptized. Next up was lust, for those who couldn’t keep it in their pants. I believe the seventh or eight circle was for fraud. What I do remember is that it was after violence, which was ludicrous to me. Although given the time differences, violence was looked at much differently.Needless to say, we varied on what crimes should be punished more harshly than others. I wish that I had my story here to reference, but I’m in the process of going through years of writings. Most of it in notebooks or looseleaf paper too. Regardless, I remember the story fairly well considering I wrote it over a decade ago. I had ten levels in my hell and as I remember murderers were in level nine and rapists and child molesters were in level ten or vice versa. Dante was fairly graphic in his version, but I was graphic to the point where you would feel almost violated by what you were reading. To be honest this is what I was going for and as a 17 year old boy at the time, maybe I was just looking for shock value. In retrospect though I feel like it should have been shocking. If there is a hell, it should be chaotic and shocking, so I wrote it the way I wanted to. I hope that I can find it and confirm that, but for right now, I’m standing by my 17 year old self. In my story, the punishments fit the crime for the most part, so rapists were being raped and so on. In some cases this wasn’t possible, but I was sure to make the punishment as gruesome, if not more than the original crime. I also had some celebrities in there to sort of lighten the mood. Knowing that I wasn’t planning on writing two more stories like”purgatorio” and “paridiso” I had to do something to lighten the mood of the story, otherwise it would have been some really scary dark shit. With quite a bit of gruesome detail to boot. Well I’m off to walk my dog and get a coffee. Welcome to the fucked up mind of skuzzy the one. Hahaha. What a post for my first time. I’m not sure how this works exactly, but I’m sure I will have tons of followers after this. Mostly therapists or suggestions for therapists. Hahaha. Have a great day and keep it skuzzy. I always do 😉

Standard

Leave a Reply

